close search ×

Los Angeles Wage & Hour Claims Lawyer

Every year, thousands of employees file wage and hour claims. Some of these claims are for unpaid wages, while others are for unpaid overtime hours. In most cases, the employer is found to be at fault and is required to pay back the stolen wages to the employee. If you believe you’ve been wrongfully denied your rightful pay, simply contact a wage & hour claims lawyer from RD Law Group for help today.

LA Lawyer | Handling Wage & Hour Claims in California

If you believe you have not been properly classified, or if you have not been paid for all the hours you’ve worked, an employment lawyer can help you file a wage and hour claim. Unpaid overtime is the most common type of wage and hour claim in California, but not the only type. If you’ve worked overtime but haven’t been paid for it, or otherwise feel you’ve been denied the pay you worked for, you may be entitled to back pay and other damages. If you have questions about your wage classification or unpaid overtime, contact a Los Angeles County employment lawyer from our firm for help.

What is a wage and hour claim?

Wage and hour claims are a complaint filed by an employee against an employer for unpaid wages or overtime. In California, employment laws require employers to pay employees for all hours, including unpaid overtime wages.

California wage laws are very specific If an employer does not pay employees for all hours worked, the employee may file a complaint.

If you believe your employer is not abiding by the labor laws of California, contact an experienced Los Angeles employment lawyer in California.

Our top employment law firm in LA can review your case and help you determine whether you have a valid wage and hour claim. We are committed to protecting California employee rights.

What are the different wage classifications in California?

There are several different wage classifications in California. The most common are hourly, salaried, and commission-based.

Hourly wages are calculated based on the number of hours worked. It is worth noting that in the state of California, the minimum wage is, currently, $15.50 per hour. If you work more than 40 hours in a week, you may be entitled to overtime pay. Salaried employees are paid a set amount each week, regardless of the number of hours worked. Commission-based employees are paid based on their sales or productivity.

What are California’s most common wage and hour claims?

There are a few different types of wage and hour claims that are common in California. If you feel like you haven’t been paid what you’re owed, or if you’ve been working overtime without being compensated, you may have a claim. A top employment lawyer at RD Law Group can help you understand your rights and options under the law. Some common wage and hour claims in California include:

  • Unpaid Overtime: If you’ve worked more than 40 hours in a week, you may be entitled to overtime pay. Overtime must be paid at 1.5 times your regular rate of pay.
  • Unpaid Wages: You may be entitled to unpaid wages if your employer hasn’t paid you for all your work hours.

The Process for A Wage and Hour Lawsuit in California

The employment attorneys at RD Law Group have a reputation for success regarding wage and hour claims. Call today to schedule a free consult. If your employee pays rights have been violated we’ll work to get you paid what you’re owed.

  1. We’ll Explain Your Rights: Once you retain us, we will begin immediately working on your case.
  2. You Sign a Retainer Agreement: Once you retain us, we will begin immediately working on your case.
  3. We Build Your Case: We will review all the evidence and facts surrounding your wage and hour claim. Then we will build your case and negotiate for the best result for you.
  4. We Settle Your Claim: Once your entire case file is built, we will negotiate for the best settlement on your behalf.

Common Questions About Wage and Hour Claims

How long do I have to file a wage and hour claim in California?

If you’ve been unpaid for overtime work in California, you may be wondering how long you have to file a wage and hour claim. The answer depends on the specific details of your case, but generally speaking, you have three years from the date of the alleged violation to file a claim.

Don’t wait too long to file a claim, as you may be forfeiting your right to recover unpaid wages. If you have any questions about the wage and hour claims process in California, an employment lawyer can help.

Your employer does not let employees take rest breaks at work – are they violating your rights?

If you are a nonexempt employee receiving an hourly wage rather than a salary, your employer must give you two paid 10-minute breaks during an eight-hour shift. If you are being denied rest breaks during the day, call us to discuss employee violations.

You were promised a bonus at work, and you never got it. What can you do about it?

There are many types of bonuses, such as a fixed percentage of a company’s profit, administrative bonus, productivity-based bonus, and even those subject to nothing at all, such as a Christmas bonus at the end of the year.

Generally, a bonus is financial compensation promised to you beyond your regular wages or commission and sometimes in connection to exemplary performance, but not always. Collecting a bonus will involve parsing through the terms of your bonus.

You can contact one of our attorneys for help with analyzing the type of bonus you may have a right to receive and how to pursue payment.

How RD Law Group Can Help

You have a limited time to file a wage and hour claim. A wage & hour claims lawyer can help you collect the required documentation and negotiate on your behalf during an informal settlement conference with your employer.

Schedule Your Free Legal Consultation

Book An Appointment